No actionNo action
202 posts:
Order:    

Slim
Coventry a bit
All posts by this member
196 of 202  Mon 20th Feb 2017 7:31am  
Member: Joined Mar 2013  Total posts:362

On 7th Feb 2017 7:48am, Midland Red said: Wasn't that referred to as "Fletch" (Fletchamstead Highway) rather than Canley, which was where Ivy Cottage fronted the site?
My father worked at the Gauge during and after the war, dead opposite, and the area was called the Fletch; in particular, there was a small adjacent pub they used at lunchtime, also called the Fletch.
Standard, Triumph & related car companies
pixrobin
Canley
All posts by this member
197 of 202  Mon 20th Feb 2017 8:50am  
Member: Joined Mar 2014  Total posts:990

As some of you know I have been researching the history of Westwood Parish for two or three years. Until 1926 the border between Fletchamstead and Canley followed what is now the bypass. To the east was Canley and to the west Fletchamstead. Tile Hill Lane, between the bypass and the lane's junction with Broad Lane, formed the border between Canley and Whoberley. So, whilst the whole of the Standard site was in Canley, the Gauge & Tool was in Fletchamstead. In earlier times, Canley came under the influence of the Cistercians at Stoneleigh Abbey and Fletchamstead under the Knights Templar at what is now Temple Balsall.
Midland Red
Cherwell
All posts by this member
198 of 202  Mon 20th Feb 2017 9:34am  
Moderator: Joined Jan 2010  Total posts:4340