Next pageNo action
18 posts:
Order:    

Stenningphotographic
South East England
All posts by this member
1 of 18  Sat 19th Feb 2011 7:42pm  
Member: Joined Feb 2011  Total posts:5

A freelance writer/photographer by trade, I am trying to get in contact with former workers in the city's motor industry (60s through to 2006). I am seeking to write a book not about the vehicles themselves but the lives of workers within the plants, their families etc. - tales from the shop floor in a nutshell. In short I would be very interested in hearing from anyone with a story to tell.
Ex-Coventry car workers sought for book
rojwhittle
derbyshire
All posts by this member
2 of 18  Wed 7th Sep 2011 9:31pm  
Member: Joined Aug 2011  Total posts:57

Hi, I am also writing a book about the Coventry car industry, although much more about the cars and the businesses. I worked for Harry Ferguson Research in the early sixties, which, as an apprentice, included a stint at Standard Triumph on placement, and later at Jaguar, in body design. I would be pleased to have a chat, and would love to help in any way I can. Please drop me an email. Roger
NeilsYard
Coventry
All posts by this member
3 of 18  Mon 12th Sep 2011 2:46am  
Member: Joined Aug 2010  Total posts:1704

I started my working life as a trainee at Ryton circa 1986 after Peugeot Talbot had taken over from Chrysler. I was involved in the launch of the 309 - the first Peugeot built at Ryton. Went on to work as an engine fitter on the track. I recall my amazement in my very first week of employment when the entire factory stood on the shop floor and voted to walk out - I stood trying to work out what was meant only to realise I was almost alone in the factory as everyone had already gone following yet another 80's union pay dispute. Happy to contribute a few more anecdotes of my experiences.
Stenningphotographic
South East England
All posts by this member
4 of 18  Sat 17th Dec 2011 1:44am